How Did They Do It All????


Being a person that loves all things vintage and also being a housewife, I often wonder how women in the 50’s did it all??? I constantly run across pictures where Vintage Housewife’s are always smiling, looking gorgeous, and making everything look like a piece of cake. Maybe it was because they did not leave the house to go to a job from 8-5….Or maybe they had some superhero powers that we don’t have today?VintageHousewife copy

 

Think about it ladies….can you imagine having a big breakfast on the table everyone morning, getting the kids and the husband off to school and work, then cleaning, cooking, shopping, washing, having snacks ready for the kids when they get home, from school, cocktails ready for hubby with his slippers and paper when he walks in the door, fancy sit down dinners, every night?  Then cleaning it all up all while doing this in your freshly pressed dress, with pearls, hose on with the seam lines straight and perfect, bullet bra and girdle holding everything perfectly in place, finishing the look off with a pretty little apron, and of course do not forget wearing 3 inch sling back heels.

anne-taintor-tadaa-221x300

 

In my world, by the time I get off work, pick up our youngest from school, get home, I have barely enough time to cook and tend to the girls before it is time for bed. Then it starts all over again the next day. Meanwhile, I am not looking my best.. I wish I knew their secret. Maybe they took some sort of magic energy pill?  All I can do is try my best to come close to a true Vintage Housewife!!!!

 

One comment

  1. Hi there, thanks so much for linking to my post 🙂 All the best with your housewife pursuits; all I can say is I’m so blessed to be at home 🙂

Leave a Reply

